I Miss CCM

Chicago Critical Mass September 2007

Racine/Diversey/Lincoln
I only found out today that this gesture, the “Chicago Hold-Up”, originated in CCM. Reading the ‘founder’ of CCM’s account of how CCM began, I found this particularly instructive:

The day of the ride I was apprehensive. All along, skeptics had been saying “This is the midwest, not California. People just don’t DO this sort of thing here.”

I was told the same thing when trying to gauge interest in a Singapore Critical Mass. This kind of response enrages me due to its self-fulfilling nature, but since I didn’t want to keep at it like an internet troll I decided to let it go and try again in several months’ time.

Michigan Ave

Photos from tfish and 704race. Video taken by tfish.

0 Responses to “I Miss CCM”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Critical Mass Photos