Prejudices Against Cycling

I have been reading a fantastic handbook on cycling[pdf] by the European Commission written for city/town planners. It includes results from a study in the Netherlands conducted on drivers who were forced to use a bicycle when their car was being repaired. The following graphic shows the drivers’ thoughts on various aspects of cycling after their cycling stints:

It’s never as bad as you think.

10 Responses to “Prejudices Against Cycling”


  1. 1 Back2Nature September 30, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    The door to door speed is missing in many people consideration but it is the main advantage that I enjoy most! Especially in Singapore, for most drivers who need to walk to the carpark and drive their cars out on to the road, and the relatively longer time compared to many cities where roadside parking is common to find parking lot and to park their car, and finally walk to the lift, and then to their destination. Using bicycle, HDB dwellers like me just take a lift down and ride. On the other end, just lock bike at a nearest location. It was so convenient that I realized my walking muscles have become too under exercised.

  2. 2 Ponder Stibbons October 1, 2008 at 12:30 am

    Indeed. People are always shocked when I tell them that I would take just as long to get to work by MRT (in fact, slightly longer in the early morning, when minimal traffic lets me cut my ride down to 50 minutes).

    The door to door speed is easily better than cars’ for short distances. My family was shocked once when they drove back from Serangoon Gardens after a meal and I biked back, and I was five minutes faster than them (it’s a ten minute ride from my house). By the time they walked to their car and managed to weave out of the crowded parking lots there, I was already almost home.

  3. 3 iamspidermonkey October 10, 2008 at 8:17 am

    what about “Perceived Dangers on the Road”? That’s where most of my concern lie…

  4. 4 Ponder Stibbons October 10, 2008 at 10:59 am

    Well, for me the perceived dangers decrease the more I cycle. But that may just be because cycling more increases my confidence in my road cycling skills.

  5. 5 Arnold October 17, 2008 at 6:53 pm

    As for me, I am seriously considering purchasing a foldable bike to be flexible in taking buses and mrt’s along with having a bike that I can use to do a bit of exercise and at the same time not worry about where I should park it and be at peace that no one will jack it.
    It seems Singapore does provide the means (although not as much as other cycling friendly countries) for those who would like to consider bike commuting as an alternative means of transport.

  6. 6 chuwa November 4, 2008 at 6:51 am

    Point-to-point-wise, cycling is significantly faster than other means, especially if you have the flexibility to combine with public transport (MRT). My folding bike is always with me where ever I go. For me this is the ultimate “point-to-point” solution, very empowering.

    Another factor I treasure much is predictability. I don’t like to waste my time waiting for others, nor waste other people’s time if they have to wait for me.

    For most parts of Singapore, I can control my timing within a margin of 20 minutes. For near distance within 5km, I can be there within 15 minutes +/- 3 minutes.

  7. 7 Back2Nature November 4, 2008 at 9:29 am

    I would estimate the Perceived Dangers on the Road to be a few times more than the actual dangers. However, the actual dangers are still as REAL. Thus, this is something that I encourage all to continue to perceive it as more than what’s real🙂

  8. 8 Ponder Stibbons November 4, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Back2Nature:

    Well, it becomes problematic when the exaggerated dangers keep many potential cyclists off the roads.

  9. 9 Back2Nature November 5, 2008 at 3:40 am

    I still prefer the potential but unable to handle real danger cyclists to be off the roads, for their own good and also for the good of all🙂

    Recently, as I rode again on a previous route I used to ride to office, already I noticed there is an increase in the number of cyclists. At a junction where usually I am the only cyclists, yesterday during the short waif for the traffic light, I noticed more than 10 cyclists!

  10. 10 simply click the up coming internet site March 20, 2013 at 7:39 pm

    If you decide to have bikini waxing in a salon make sure that
    you are doing it with a reputable salon known for maintaining
    a clean environment. It is better to leave it to the hands of the professionals since they know what they are doing and the
    fewer mistakes the better results you have and if the procedure is done correctly then you won’t experience any side effects like burns, skin irritations, rashes, skin infections and more. The best option is to call them or get a reservation via the salon website a few days earlier.


Leave a Reply

