Appalling

Arson and Arsenic reports that motorbike driving instructors tell their students that it’s illegal for cyclists to be on the roads.

Today was my first time attempting to cycle to work at 9am. I think whatever health benefits I gathered from the exercise were probably cancelled out by the pollution. Furthermore, it was a bitch trying to filter right. Two big filters that I have problems with are along Thomson Road (to turn into Chancery Lane) and Holland Road (to turn into North Buona Vista Road). When I stick to my usual starting time of 6am, I have no problems making those turns. Today at around 9.30am the traffic along Thomson Road was heavy and slow. Bloody taxi honked at me when I tried to filter right, even though there was a huge gap between it and the car in front, and I was travelling about as fast as the rest of the traffic on the road. And even after I’d successfully filtered, I had to wait a bloody long time before there was a gap in the traffic in the opposite direction that allowed me to turn into Chancery Lane. I should have just taken Lornie Road, hills and all. At Holland Road I had to take two pedestrian crossings to turn right.

2 Responses to “Appalling”


  1. 1 mb March 27, 2008 at 6:26 am

    For this reason, I always look for routes that don’t require me to turn right.

    Yeah, those roads you mentioned sound hairy.

    I cycle at 9.30am along Jalan Eunos every workday myself, when the traffic is very heavy. Maybe I am used to it by now.

    I ride Lornie very often too. I only hate the entrance into PIE, because I have to filter two lanes right while avoiding the speeding cars trying to turn left INTO the PIE. Love the downhill bits though.

  2. 2 Ponder Stibbons March 27, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    Lornie Road scares me for the same reason. Two bloody lanes!


Leave a Reply

