Still avoiding the outdoors, and hence avoiding my bike. Been swimming almost everyday instead, and my right ear has been blocked since yesterday. Annoying.

I actually biked more during the dead of winter. I’m much more demoralised about winter now because it keeps looking as though it might actually end, but doesn’t. Since mid-March, we’ve gotten scattered days with >10C weather, but then we plunge back to near freezing again. And it’s bloody windy. The thought that winter shouldbe ending makes it more demoralising when it doesn’t. Easy to go out cycling in sub-zero weather if you think it’ll be over soon. Not when you’ve had weeks of evidence that it is, in fact, not ending anytime soon.

It’s not even cold in an interesting way. I’d rather it be sub-zero and snowing than slightly above zero and blustery and gray and damp, like the middle of a English winter. English winters are Chicago springs, I suppose. Horrible thing to inflict on us just when we are expecting and hoping for warmth.

If next week is this cold I’ll miss my second Critical Mass in a row. I’ve never been so fed up with coldness.

0 Responses to “”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

